Hallandale 1969

Beautiful Gulfstream Park Hallandale

Beautiful Gulfstream Park Hallandale

Anticipating the sea
we load the baby blue Cadillac
with an inflatable raft
a bucket and shovel
snorkel and flippers
a blanket and towels
folding aluminum chairs
a transistor radio
 two longboards
my fabulous mother
 my brother Ricky
my sister Deanie
and me
little Jo Pat.

my mother’s hair ablaze in Lucy red
her cat-eyed sunglasses
her tangerine lips
her dazzling smile
My brother and sister
sun-bleached teens
hop in the rear
I’m 3 feet tall
 a round brown belly
 my favorite leopard print bikini
I stand up in the front seat alongside my mom
 black vinyl scorches the back of my legs
we pull out of our driveway
shells crackling
radio blaring
I sing out
“Ladadada Good Morning Star-shine
the earth says hello”

We pass tutti-frutti colored homes with white barrel-tiled roofs
pass mango avocado coconut grapefruit trees
 overflowing yards
we make our way to Hallandale Beach Boulevard
there’s the rickety wooden farmhouse that later mesmerized me
when I watch it burn to the ground
we pass Barnett’s Hardware
where you can get “Anything and Everything”
stuff made from Lucite!
On the north corner
just before Dixie Highway
a Spanish style stucco building
a laundry mat within
 pink washers peek through mint-green doorways

Now we go over the railroad tracks of Dixie Highway
there’s Nick’s
where the men drink endless cups of coffee
eat eggs and grits
and smoke cigarettes while handicapping the upcoming races
ANNNND, THEY’RE OFF!…
I see Gulfstream race track
the sweet smell of horse sweat and manure wafts through the car
it’s where my dad spends more time than at home
where cousin Marie found her passion and lost her mind

We pass the huge screens of the drive-in
surrounded by moss-laden oaks
a colorful jungle of coral vine and bitter melon
 cicadas buzz and giant dragonflies swoon
next door to Publix grocers
“Where Shopping is a pleasure”
and where droves of crimson land crabs die in the parking lot
crunched beneath the tires of devoted housewives
 next to the big cement arches of Golden Isles
where the rich, well-groomed people live

At last, we loll over the bridge of the Intracoastal Waterway
garnished with sailboats fishing boats and yachts
then they are behind us
We approach the massive lime-green cistern on a soaring pedestal
“City of Hallandale” in cursive across the girth
beside it a sea-beaten motel
a grid of rooms boasting air conditioning units
metal boxes hanging out of each window
rust stains and mildew painting the plaster walls

I take in the ocean and the seaside aromas
a mix of saltwater
seaweed
suntan oil
burgers and fries
I hear waves rolling then crashing
a multitude of radio’s playing at once
children screaming and laughing
a lifeguard blowing his whistle at someone who swam out too far
a small plane puttering as it tows its banner across the horizon
 we’ve arrived

a joy wells up inside me
knowing that living treasure awaits me on the jetty
tiny crustaceans,  weird bugs seashell jewels
the tide washes over me and the sun bakes me
My mom lounges and reads
Ricky and Deanie surf
I climb the jetty
forever young at this place which never leaves me
watertower

Photo Courtesy of South Florida Sun Times

9 thoughts on “Hallandale 1969

Leave a comment